Created Date: 05 Nov, 2021 16:18
Last Modifed Date: 29 Nov, 2021 15:19


The Queues Pane has three areas:

  • Waiting Queue
  • Print Queue
  • Completed Queue

Waiting Queue

The Waiting Queue is populated by:

  • Copying files directly into the Wait Queue Folder set in the Engineer Pane
  • Dragging and dropping PDF files on to the Waiting Queue Pane

    This feature is enabled by adjusting Allow Direct Job Submission in the Engineer/Settings Pane.

    Click items in the Waiting Queue to reorder them. 

Each job in the Waiting Queue displays in a single row, which has the following columns:

  • Send to Print Queue – Click this to move the job to the end of the Print Queue
  • Thumbnail – This is a full-color rendering of page one; it does not reflect print settings.

    The thumbnail is not generated while the print run is active.

    The thumbnail includes an indication if a job has been edited in the Job Editor:

  • Filename – The filename of the job
  • Copy count – The copy count of the job
  • Duplicate – Click this to clone the job.
  • Edit – If the Job Editor application is available, this icon allows you to define the number of copies to print and the start page number.
  • Delete – Click this to remove the job from the Waiting Queue.
  • Print settings – Click this to open a window showing job print settings.
    - The job is compatible with the current print settings.
    - The job has at least one warning, but may still be printed.
    - The job is incompatible with the current print settings and cannot be printed.

Enabling the Auto-Print option automatically sends all jobs arriving in the Waiting Queue directly to the Print Queue.

When Auto-Print is enabled, the jobs move to the Print Queue as soon as they have been fully pre-processed.

Print Settings

Click the blue information icon next to a job in the Waiting Queue to display the job Print Settings Pane.

The information is broken into two parts:

  • On the left is a thumbnail of the first page of the job.
  • On the right is data relating to the current job settings.     

In the above example, a yellow warning triangle next to the width to show protrusion occurs with the current media width. You may still print despite this warning.

If the job is incompatible with the current print settings and can't be printed, a red warning triangle indicates the incompatible parameter:

Place the mouse over the warning triangle to display the current setting.

Job Editor

To invoke the Job Editor, click the pen icon next to the job, which opens a window that shows the selected job and allows the operator to change:

  • Number of Copies
  • Start page

You must press Apply if you change any parameters, and you must save the file before exiting the application; failure to do so results in losing the changes.

If you select a suitable ICC output profile in the application’s current Media settings, it is used in the Job Editor.

Waiting Queue Folder

The location of this folder is defined in the Settings tab of the Engineer Pane.

When you copy a PDF file directly into the Waiting Queue Folder, it only shows in the Waiting Queue when a corresponding .complete file is present.  The main purpose of this is to indicate the PDF file copy has finished; therefore, you must copy the .complete file into the Waiting Queue Folder once the PDF file copy has completed.

Once they appear in the Waiting Queue, all files there are deleted.

The .complete file must have the same filename as the corresponding PDF, with a .complete suffix.  For example, if the PDF file is myfile.pdf, the complete filename would be myfile.pdf.complete.

The .complete file is a JSON format file with the following structure:

{
  "CopyCount": 23,
  "ActiveMediaWidthMm": 254.0,
  "DuplexMode": "SimplexSideA",
  "CueMarkIntervalMm": 0.0,
  "PageLayouts": {
    "SideA": {
      "PrintPosition": "GearLeft",
      "PrintMarginMm": 0.0
    },
    "SideB": {
      "PrintPosition": "GearLeft",
      "PrintMarginMm": 0.0
    }
  }
}
CODE


All keys must be supplied; omitting keys may lead to unsupported behavior.

DuplexMode supports the following values:

  • SimplexSideA
  • SimplexSideB
  • DuplexSideAFirst
  • DuplexSideBFirst

PrintPosition supports the following values:

  • GearLeft
  • Center
  • OperatorRight

The Smart Print Controller writes a file to the Waiting Queue folder that an external application uses to see the current settings printrun.config. This file has exactly the same format and values as the .complete file.

Print Queue

To populate the Print Queue, either:

  • Click the Send to Print Queue icon, at the left of the job entry in the Waiting Queue; the item appears at the bottom of the Print Queue.
  • Drag jobs from the Waiting Queue into the Print Queue. (You can select/drag multiple items simultaneously.) The items appear at the bottom of the Print Queue.

    When dragging items from the Waiting Queue to the Print Queue, the order of the items in the Print Queue is based on the selection orde

Each job in the Print Queue is shown in a single row.  The row has the following columns:

  • Thumbnail – This is a full-color rendering of page one; it does not reflect print settings.
  • Filename – The filename of the job
  • Copy count – The copy count of the job
  • Status – Updated once the Print Queue is started.
    • Ready to Print – The job has been copied to Harlequin Direct.
    • Starting – The job is being prepared and sent to Harlequin Direct.
    • Printing – The job is currently being processed and printed by Harlequin Direct.
      • Placing the mouse over the line below the status displays the current page being printed.
    • Succeeded – The job completed successfully and is moved to the completed queue.
    • Failed – The job failed to complete.
    • Delete – Click this to remove the job from the Print Queue.

      The Delete option is not available if the job is in the printing state.

While printing, an additional option is available to cancel the current job. Pressing this icon terminates the printing job at the earliest opportunity and then continues automatically to the next job in the queue.

Click and drag items in the Print Queue to reorder them. Additionally, when a job is not in the printing state (that is, when the Delete icon is showing), you can drag it back to the Waiting Queue.

Control the Print queue with the buttons to the right of the Print Queue job list.

  • Start - Start the print run. Jobs are sent to Harlequin Direct. Any job appearing in the Print Queue is automatically sent to Harlequin Direct.
  • Stop – Stop the print run.
    Cancels any currently printing jobs and stops the print run.
    If data is detected in the output device’s print buffer, the application waits until it is emptied; to override this delay, abort the print run instead.
  • Abort - Cancel the currently printing jobs and stop the print run.
    The currently printing jobs are canceled at the earliest opportunity and the print run is automatically stopped.

Use the cancel symbol next to a printing job to cancel the current job without stopping the print run.

To see the current progress, hover the mouse over the print progress bar to see the current page being processed.

The page number reported should be used as a guide only since reporting the exact page at any given time is unreliable due to the speeds the system can operate at.


Auto-Stop

If enabled, once all jobs that started printing have finished printing, the STOP button is automatically triggered.

If there are remaining jobs in the Print Queue and none of them are showing as Starting or Printing, then the STOP button is still triggered.

After automatically stopping, a dialog appears while the press completes; this ensures no output is lost, but you can Abort Printing immediately.

Completed Queue

The Completed Queue is populated by a job leaving the Print Queue.

Each job in the Completed Queue displays in a single row, which has the following columns:

  • Move – Click this to change the order of jobs in the queue.
  • Thumbnail – This is a full-color rendering of page one; it does not reflect print settings.
  • Filename – The filename of the job
  • Copy count – The copy count of the job
  • Status
    • Succeeded – The job completed without error.
    • Canceled – The job was canceled by the operator before it completed.
    • Failed – The job failed to complete.
  • Start Time
  • Duration
  • Delete – Click this to remove the job from the queue.
  • Information – Click this to open a window showing job print setting information.

The Completed Queue has a Delete All icon in the top right; click this to remove all entries from the completed queue.

Items can be moved from the Completed Queue to the Waiting Queue only.